What's new
What's new

Starter wrench sets?

georgee1

Aluminum
Looking to round off my tool box more. I want to get a full set of sae and metric. Any opinions on choice between tekton and gear wrench sets? I know they are crap compared to snap on tools. I just can't afford those yet. And should they be ratcheted?

Don't believe all the hype about Snap-on I work as a professional mechanic and have Snap-on , Matco and Craftsman wrenches in my box. The Craftsman's work as well as the others and are the first set I bought as a kid . I am not sure that new Craftsman is the same quality as my 30 year old ones but I think you could pay more for worse still . Bill

I have a large mix of wrenches (60 years worth), Tektron is one. I haven't found a bad wrench in my life. Some are obviously better finished than others. I usually try to keep one of each size needed at each machine to cut down on hunting time. I usually buy good looking CHEAP tools for the purpose. They all fit with no rounded fasteners and no broken wrenches. When you need to modify a wrench (bend, thin, etc) it pays to doit™ to a cheap one.

I probably have 20+ sets of wrenches at various locations (Armstrong, Gedore, Snap-on etc. etc.). Don't know about Tektron, but the Taiwanese Gear Wrench set (full polish ratcheting box, with a directional switch) has held up OK. Generally speaking, I think Gear Wrench is a good value.

Harry Epstein often has close-out American, German etc. wrenches available. The big exodus of quality US brands was a while ago; but there still might still be something to your liking: HJE Industrial Quality Hand Tool Liquidation, Closeouts and Surplus American Made Hand Tools Biggest problem would be getting a replacement if you break one (not likely with, say, a box end set; more likely with a ratchet) or if you lose one.

HJE Industrial Quality Hand Tool Liquidation, Closeouts and Surplus American Made Hand Tools