What's new
What's new

Steps to increase production on a lathe

turnworks

Cast Iron
Hello,

Im interested in learning how to speed up making parts on a lathe.

More looking for steps others have taken that reduce the time it takes to make a widget.

Ex. collect closer,quick change tool post,tailstock turret,gang tooling, automatic tool changer, hydraulic chuck,DRO ect.

Little more info which I hope will help out. Im a TIG welder at my day job but nights/ weekends I make whatever comes into my head to sell. Most of my ideas either don't sell or barely sell. A handful really take off keeping me mostly busy until someone else makes it cheaper and orders dry up.

I normally make one item and use it to make sure its what I wanted then change or modify it as needed to make it better. After that Ill make a dozen or so and see if it sells. Sells slowly Ill make another dozen but when they sell fast I farm out the parts to a local shop to free up my time.

Currently most of my widgets are 1.500-.500" diameter and .500-6.000" long ranging from aluminum to pre hardened 4130.

Was interested to hear if people either bought an attachment for a lathe(or a different lathe completely) that really helped speed things up or also the items that looked like they would help but really didn't.

I know this is a completely open ended question with more unknowns and variables than you can shake a stick at but thought I might get lucky here.

Current lathe I can not mention but along with the TIG welder and knee mill Im still making money with it just would like to be more efficient. Correction I make more money farming the parts out but I have to make them first.

Operations include: turning, facing, threading, drilling, grooving, parting, boring and lots of radius'.

Thanks for your time.

To his credit he did say it could not be mentioned here.

Well, then maybe it shouldn't be discussed here either then eh ?

POS is a POS, and nothing will fix it.