What's new
What's new

stripping chrome from brass

plunger

Aluminum
Hi . I was hoping someone has successfully stripped chrome plating from brass faucets.Not knowing the proper terminology I suspect it is nickel and chrome plated.
I am from South Africa so I cant buy stuff from Caswells etc and need to try make my own formula, taking into considerations all the environmental problems(no environment police patrolling here,just common sense cause I like my planet) and the obvious dangers .
What I have tried. Being a plumber I have acsess to sulphuric acid. I mixed some borax and sulphuric acid and tried electrolysis using my inverter welder set on 50 amps and using a lead flashing plate as the cathode.

It stripped the chrome but also damaged the brass in the tap or faucet. I suspect the zinc is being attacked(dezincification)
I would love to hear if anyone here has done this successfully as well if you have done a small scale electropolish set up.

From my limited understanding doing what you have done creates chromium compounds in the liquid which are extremely harmful to your health and harmful to the environment.
Hexavalient chromium is the compound i think.

so how do you dispose of the liquid you have now created?

Maybe someone will chime in on how to reverse the solution if possible.

From my limited understanding doing what you have done creates chromium compounds in the liquid which are extremely harmful to your health and harmful to the environment.

Maybe someone will chime in on how to reverse the solution if possible.