What's new
What's new

Stsinless for surgical tools.

surplusjohn

Diamond
I have a design job for a surgical tool that is basically a complex set of pliers. The client wants to be able to make a small run to proof out the design. So those would have to be machined. In production the would probability be forged. This is a hand operated device, but There are several sliding and turning contacts and there will be considerable bending forces on parts. All while having to be reasonable in weight and be autoclaved.
Question. What would be a good alloy for machining these and what heat treat spec?
Thanks for the help. I have designed lots of similar but non medical devices, so I am not experienced on the proper material.
Btw. I know that this will be crazy expensive to make. But it is what it is..

316 or 440 CRES seems to be popular with the medical parts we make. I think 316 would suit your purpose just fine, from what I'm imagining from your description.

No idea what the acme nut is for though. So it's hard to suggest anything. I don't know how much friction has to be negated, or if you're just trying to limit galling or something.

Can't really tell you anything about a heat treatment since you haven't given enough information to establish requirements. I thought you said you had the design ;)

I'll be a ditto head. 316 is a standard choice in this application, 440C if you need more strength or hardness after heat-treatment. 410 and 420 are also used for medical instruments. Ti6Al4V is another common material for medical stuff.

The 400 series alloys are not as corrosion-resistant as 316, however these are standard materials for medical instruments so the end user already should have material approvals, autoclaving procedures, etc. Hardened 440C is substantially more resistant to galling than most common stainless steels, which may be a plus for this application.