Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Tennessee
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

my thinking of spinning is once dialed in you would eliminate punch/shear of the bottom slug or lip, that is a big step that everyone just kinda mentions. You still get the exercise in punch/stamp dies with the blanking of washers and spinning forms with some nifty quick release work holding mechanics. Is stainless for the fun of it, or just because it is metal students love?

Country
    GERMANY
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Wow, need to confess that it got much more repercussion than I expect. In any case, thank very much already for all the help guys.

Leaving funny argument away, indeed I guess I underestimated the part. Sorry if I went to direct into the topic, my intentions were good hehe. Just giving a bit of my background, I am a mechanical engineer specialized on finite element analysis (structural, crash and so on). No, I do not run a "home workshop", I own a company that provide small- and large scale machined parts and molds for rubber vulcanization, here we posses a Hermle CNC Center, a lathe CNC Index ABC, many other prototyping tools and now an old Eccentric Press EBU 50 Ton.

I already finished my bachelor 6 years ago, but here in German the master system works a bit different (you may do it later). Doesn't mean I am a simple student, I just don't have experience on the stamping/forming world. My master thesis is to relate FEA with manufacturing methods, I choose to include this stamping example because I "accidentally" got this press from a friend. (Am I wrong to try to increase my profit putting it to work as well?)