What's new
What's new

Surface grinder wheel balancing

razoredgeknives

Plastic
Surface grinder wheel balancing, Harig 618

Hey guys, I'm pretty new at this so am not sure exactly how to balance my harig 618 grinding wheel... I need near perfect finishes so I defiantly want the wheel balanced even though it's pretty small diameter (7-8") I can either send it out if I can find someone to do it or get what I need to do it myself...

But I'm not sure if there is a dummy arbor I need or a specific flange that can take weights or what I need and what will work, even if I get the static wheel balancer. Any help appreciated!

You need to have a few things before you attempt this.

First, you need to have a hub that provides for balancing. usually there are weights that can be move around to achieve the proper balance.

Second, you need a plug that fits the inside of the hub.

Third, you need a balancing jig. This is usually provided with your grinder.

If you have all of these things, the only thing you need to remember is to be sure your wheel is NOT wet from coolant. This can wildly effect the balance.

If your flange has no movable weights, you can use a carbide drill and drill in to the wheel to balance it.

Wheels of this size should not need balancing. Altering a wheel by drilling or any other method is at your own peril. The wheel should be centered on the adaptor with paper shims as wheels now are usually 32 mm and slightly oversize for the 1 1/4" adaptor. Then dress both sides and the peryphery and it should run fine. When you see what a balancing adaptor costs you will likely have second thoughts on balancing.

TDMidget is probably right.

If you dress the wheel properly you should not need a balance.