What's new
What's new

Tapered drill for a tapered pin?

rickseeman

Cast Iron
I'm a newbie trying to re-purpose a handwheel to put on a G&L radial drill. The handwheel slides on the shaft and is held in place by a tapered pin. The pin is .201 on one end and .221 on the other and is 1-1/4" long. Now I need to drill the new handwheel for the tapered pin. Do I buy a tapered drill for this? Thank you for your help.

You need to go back and measure your pin. Standard taper pins have 1/4" taper per foot. If I do the math on yours, it come out 0.192". A #3 pin has a large diameter of 0.219". A #4 pin is 0.250 at the big end. All per Machinery's Handbook.

I'm guessing it's supposed to be a #4. You'll need a #4 TP reamer, about $20.
I hope that you have an accurate way to locate the new hole in the handwheel.
JR

Seems a lot of taper pins on older machines were hand drilled, you may have a problem with alignment drilling the hand wheel.
I think i’ed go with a split/spring pin in a diferant location.

So, it looks closest to a #3 pin in the book. Do I drill it to the small size and then get a #3 tapered reamer? It sounds good. I didn't see a recommended drill size in the Machinery's Handbook. Thank you.

If drilling it by hand, you can assemble it with a shim washer between the hand-wheel and the casting, drill/ream the hole, then remove the shim. Otherwise you risk it binding when assembled.

It's unlikely you will get the hole drilled and reamed with a full clean up with out needing a larger pin. As others said they may have drilled and reamed the original by hand so it depends on how much time you spend and the amount of work you're willing to go through. I like to have 100 percent contact for the new pin, not important for a lot of applications but if it's going to be rough handled or power feed then it might be.
Dan

I bought a set of tapered drill bits for installing taper pins some decades ago. They may be hard to find these days.