What's new
What's new

There are no stupid questions? Boring small cylinders in my garage..

poppanitrous

Plastic
I am a 1st year student working with "HAAS" C.N.C. programming at my local college's vocation program. However i wanted to get something for my garage off craigalist or a chinese version of a Bridgeport mill (which was where i am origionally from BPT/milford-CT ironically).I have heard that the new chinese stuff if maintained and trammed often can be accurate enough for my dirtbike motor needs.

The work i want to do is maintain my motocross bike i race. What milling machine or even a press can i get away with using a boring bar for max stroke/bore around 80mm. I want to be able to bore and hone my dirtbike and atv cylinders and possible learn to cut valve seats. first and foremost what is the most cost effective machine for me to invest in used and tooling to set up for boring small engine jugs?

Included please, tramming tools, vise, everything i would need besides torque plates for the jugs since i am making those on the HAAS in school this semester.I look forward to the exponential amount of information on this website and forgive me in advance for my ignorance if i am using the wrong nomenclature on tooling etc.

thank you gentlemen,
Vincent

There are no stupid questions?

If that were honestly the case, then there would be no :skep:, :dopeslap:, or
icon_doh.gif

--------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

A) Your heading is wacky and may get your post locked. At the least it opens you up to responses like the above which was my first thought but Ox beat me to it. :D
Not sure if you can change a heading but if so change it now to something like "Help boring small engine cylinders" or the like.

B) Don't mention ummm...... "that other country". That just raises heckles here.

C) Why?? The machine is only the start of the draining of your wallet.
Tooling, fixtures, and gauging to do this right will dwarf the machine cost.