What's new
What's new

Thread Chart help needed

Jay_McDaniel

Plastic
Let me start by saying I am new to machining. Like many people, I have always had the interest, but just recently got the space and expendable income.

I bought a 1940's Sebastian lathe from a friend who hadn't used it in a few years. I have attached a before and after picture, just as an FYI. I've been pleased with its performance. But as you probably know, there is very little documentation for these old machines. I was able to find a user manual online, and a parts manual at DC Morrison. But there is still a bit of information I am unable to find.

On top of the quick change gear box there is a metal plate that has a ton of info on it. I assume it is called a threading chart. Please correct me if I am wrong. It got pretty beat up over the years when machinist would use it as a shelf. My wife and I have been able to determine most of the verbiage on the plate, but cannot be 100% sure we have documented it correctly. Is there a way to compare our notes to a known chart? I guess what I am asking is, is the chart specific to this model lathe, or are they somewhat universal? The lathe uses a 8 TPI lead screw. Lathe.jpgLathe 2.jpg

If you know the lead-screw ratio, gearing between the lead screw and drive gear.. you could back-figure.
Or worst, break out your dial,measure the travel of the carriage per revolution.
You will have several lead ranges, they are merely multipliers.
So, gear 1-10 will be your base leads... ABCDE will be your multipliers...
You understand, say A1 could be 4 threads an inch, A2 might be 6 thread, A3 might be 8 thread..
Really, an hour should generate it.
But, once you know that ratio, there will be another lathe with that ratio and the chart will be valid.

There is a picture of the threading/feed chart for a 12" Sebastian here;

Sebastian Lathe Details

and a picture of an older 12" Sebastian here;

Sebastian lathes

that seems similar to yours.