What's new
What's new

thread depth chart

SB1997

Plastic
hello, im new to this forum and machining for that matter so forgive me if his isnt the right place for this post.

lets get down to it. im just starting to learn threading on my old south bend 13" lathe and i was trying to do some male threads (12 tpi) on a piece of aluminum tube for practice and trying to make it thread into a small pipe fitting we had laying around the shop. i got the inside diameter of the pipe (1.517) and the first try i just turned the OD of my aluminum down to that diameter and didnt realize what i did until i tried to thread it.

so does anyone have advice on how to calculate the thread depth of cuts like this or is there a chart somewhere? any advice would be extremely helpful. Thank you

hello, im new to this forum and machining for that matter so forgive me if his isnt the right place for this post.

lets get down to it. im just starting to learn threading on my old south bend 13" lathe and i was trying to do some male threads (12 tpi) on a piece of aluminum tube for practice and trying to make it thread into a small pipe fitting we had laying around the shop. i got the inside diameter of the pipe (1.517) and the first try i just turned the OD of my aluminum down to that diameter and didnt realize what i did until i tried to thread it.

so does anyone have advice on how to calculate the thread depth of cuts like this or is there a chart somewhere? any advice would be extremely helpful. Thank you

Plenty of advice in the thread on "what causes this gaulling?"
Plenty of YouTube videos also. These may be the most helpful as they are easier to follow and no visualization required.

SB1997,