What's new
What's new

Threading Project Causing Brain Damage

Mr. Fixit

Aluminum
Hi All,

I am seeking some help with a small threading job on a manual lathe. I am trying to externally thread a piece of 2" OD DOM with 20 TPI and I an having no success which could be as simple as the compound set angle.

I should mention that I am a hobby machinist, although I have been playing around for 20+ years.

I have turned a recess down to the minor diameter of 1.9387 per the 3A fitment shown in the Machinery's Handbook with the intention of cutting the threads to the depth of the minor diameter (tool bit just touching the previously cut recess). Everything on the lathe is set up as usual with the compound being set at 30 degrees, however this is a new 14" x 40" South Bend made in Taiwan and I have not yet cut threads so I am not certain what angle it should be set at such as 30 or 60 degrees. Now the problem. When the depth of cut gets close to the minor diameter of the recess, I have already lost the of major diameter of 2" and the threads are not formed correctly.

I thought to remove the tool bit and align one of the cutting edges with the edge of the compound to see if it was pointing parallel to the faced edge of the part. To my surprise it was not and in order to achieve this, the compound has to be set to 45 degrees. I have not attempted to re-cut the part yet and wonder if anyone has experienced this or has a suggestion.

Thank you,

Steve

The compound angle is not critical. In fact, you can thread using the cross-feed straight in and ignoring the compound altogether. It is important that the axis for the thread pass feed fall within the flank angles of your thread. So, +-30 degrees off perpendicular to your work centerline, for a standard 60 degree thread form.