What's new
What's new

Threads Skewed

gtj

Plastic
Newbie here. Hobby fabricator/machinist.
My difficulty is that my thread shape is not to my satisfaction. The shape of the triangle formed has the apex shifted toward the headstock such that the headstock side angle is steeper than the tailstock side.
Threading left to right, A thread, inverted 60* carbide insert, mild steel.
The thread works on the tapped female thread, but I know it has a lot of room for improvement!
I was considering taking lighter cuts once I get into the “meat” of the part as a possible way to improve on this aspect.
Any suggestions welcomed.
Appreciated

Newbie here. Hobby fabricator/machinist.
My difficulty is that my thread shape is not to my satisfaction. The shape of the triangle formed has the apex shifted toward the headstock such that the headstock side angle is steeper than the tailstock side.
Threading left to right, A thread, inverted 60* carbide insert, mild steel.
The thread works on the tapped female thread, but I know it has a lot of room for improvement!
I was considering taking lighter cuts once I get into the “meat” of the part as a possible way to improve on this aspect.
Any suggestions welcomed.
Appreciated

wrong 29.5 degrees?

If your tool is truly a 60 deg form, then you need to adjust it parallel to the axis of the shaft.
A fishtail works good for this.

^Also check what he said.

Yep. Probably this.

Point the compound straight in to the work, then swing it to the appropriate side, by 29 degrees, not to the 29 degrees mark.

Then use the fish plate gage to set the tool square with the work.

OK, Lightbulb moment. Got it!
Makes sense. 29.5 to the part, not the dial setting. Dial setting would be 60* if using a 30* angle.
Thank You Kindly.

Thanks Men!

Thanks Everyone.
Much Appreciated.
Can't wait to make some better threads.
Cheers

I made this drawing a few days ago for another thread. It explains it in pictures:

attachment.php

Can we make this thread a sticky?