What's new
What's new

Three slot Rotary table direct to 3 hole 6" chuck?

helmbelly

Aluminum
I have a Vertex 8" table with 3 slots. I've been looking to see if anyone made a bolt thru chuck (6" 4 jaw independent) that had 3 holes to save a bunch of work and an inch of Z axis (Rockwell knee mill).

The chuck just needs to work hold mostly alum and delrin so I don't need much. I found an asian POS chuck with the right 3 hole config made of "semi steel" a term I have to google...
8" D1-4 4 Jaw Independent Lathe Chuck

but the chuck I found is not a thru hole just an internal socket on the bottom side.

So I had a couple ideas

First just remove platter from rotab and bolt thru to the underside of chuck and reinstall platter or
the other idea- pick up the holes they have and blow thru to use T nuts.

Just wondered if I'm missing anything basic before diving in. I'm self taught and what I don't know is impressive.

Generally 4 jaws have 4 mounting holes.

And also generally, chucks that can be bolted on from the face are 3X as
much as ones that are mounted from the rear, especially 3 jaws.
Same damn POS chuck, just a couple extra holes.

The answer is that "in general", and in my experience. You can drill
and counter bore your own face mount holes. Its actually a lot easier
on a 4jaw since there is no scroll in the middle. You can pretty
much drill anywhere you want.

That is exactly what I did to mount a 6", 4 jaw on my RT which has six radial slots. I purchased a new, import four jaw without any back plate. I did do a little planning on the hole locations but basically they are about 3/4" from the outer edge and at 120 degree spacing. It really was easy.

When it is mounted on the RT the bolt heads are on the front surface of the chuck but this has never been a problem - at least not yet.

Bob that is incredibly useful info thanks for filling me in on the state of play with these things.