What's new
What's new

Tips on using a vise, stock pushed up when tightening

Stefano Prato

Plastic
Greetings,

I'm new to machining and I would like to have tips on how to solve a problem that I encountered recently.

I bought some parallels for my cheap machinist vise and I noticed that when I tighten the vise the stock is never in contact with the parallels. I was aware of this problem so I bought a soft hammer but I was surprised to see that no matter what the stock will never be firmly touching the parallels. At the very best there will be a single contact poi on just one of the 2 parallels. I tried to machine as flat as possible the surface that will be in contact with the parallels but nothing changed. I checked the parallelism of the parallels and the vise bed relative to a granite surface plate that the vise was sitting on and everything was in tolerance. I also checked parallelism with the machine axis and still in tolerance. I think that the problem is on the jaws or in the moving part of the vise. I also noticed that the sliding unit can easily be tilted by hand with a bit of pressure.

I saw that high-end vises have pull down mechanism so I guess this is a common problem and that's why I thought that maybe there are tips and tricks someone more experienced can share. I also tried to keep the stock down by having the spindle nose touching it (I have a hobby machine with a cheap spindle, I would have never done this with a real machine)and had no success.

Thanks and sorry for my english.

Greetings,

I'm new to machining and I would like to have tips on how to solve a problem that I encountered recently.