What's new
What's new

Which tool post for a Myford ML10 lathe?

Smi_tty

Plastic
I acquired my first lathe not too long ago -a Myford ML10. I am a newbie to all of this. I’ve done a lot of reading on quick change tool posts. The problem seems to be that the tool posts mentioned require machining to fit the ml10 units - I am just getting into this hobby, and don’t own a mill just yet. I am looking for a tool post with 4 clamping tools (will that suffice for a small lathe like this, or do you recommend more tool holders? Which units will fit without modifications?

Myford ML10, "Pony" & "Warco" lathe The mother load of lathe information.

The ML10 is a hobby machine, so this forum is not the best place to ask machine-specific questions.

As for quick change tool posts, you can hardly have too many holders. And there are so many different types out there that it seems you should be able to find some to fit your lathe. Too bad the standard ML7 Dickson S00 QCTP won't fit, because I have one with ten holders for sale.

Larry

Myford ML10, "Pony" & "Warco" lathe The mother load of lathe information.

The ML10 is a hobby machine, so this forum is not the best place to ask machine-specific questions.

As for quick change tool posts, you can hardly have too many holders. And there are so many different types out there that it seems you should be able to find some to fit your lathe. Too bad the standard ML7 Dickson S00 QCTP won't fit, because I have one with ten holders for sale.

Larry

Could it be modified to work?

How much money are you willing to spend on a tool post? That will really determine where you go.

Do you want to be able to make your own holders? That's another key question.