What's new
What's new

tool sharpening

WDG

Plastic
Does anyone have a mill sharpening machine or do mill bit sharpening? I have toyed with the idea of getting a machine if I could get enough business to pay for it and make a little money on the side but they're expensive and I've no experience in sharpening milling bits. I'm thinking I may be biting off more than I can chew. Money is tight so that's another issue. I would like to have some feedback from more experienced people. thanks

The way you sharpen endmills is to grind off the dull end, and re-point. Treat it like a break-off "box" knife.
Reason: when your done the the endmill is still the same size, and still has the original geometry for cutting.

Most of the time you don't use the endmill's full flute length when cutting. Usually you only need less than half of it's diameter when you are in the cut.

You can re-point with a off hand "post" grinder.

Regards,
Stan-

If you want them to kick ass, "Mountain Top Sharpening" is your place. Forum member "jamesu229" should be able to get you the address.

If you bothered to do a search, and also check in the abrasive machining forum, this has been covered ad nauseum. Including just a few weeks ago on the AM forum.

No direct comparison of a "machine" (purpose cnc set up?) but tons of stuff on manual machines, accessories, pros/cons, and business possibilities, if any.

smt

end mill sharpening

Does anyone have a mill sharpening machine or do mill bit sharpening? I have toyed with the idea of getting a machine if I could get enough business to pay for it and make a little money on the side but they're expensive and I've no experience in sharpening milling bits. I'm thinking I may be biting off more than I can chew. Money is tight so that's another issue. I would like to have some feedback from more experienced people. thanks