What's new
What's new

Tooling a Starrett Master Height Gage - what uses?

JasonPAtkins

Hot Rolled
I have another rookie question...
The list of tools that I've gotten cheap at auctions, because lots of shops have them, without knowing what they do, and then later learned about them and really liked them, is long. Today's edition of "help educate the newbie" is about height gages.

I have a Starrett Master Height Gage (in metric), but it didn't come with any accessories, like scribes. I also didn't have a granite inspection plate, but have now acquired a small one. So now that I have the granite, I'd like to get the accessories I need to make the height gage useful, since it seems like they go together. Or, at least, the only time I've seen one in use, Mr Pete used it to scribe layout lines on a workpiece, and they were used together for that application.

So, does anyone have a good resource (manual from Starrett, maybe?) that explains the uses and accessories for a height gage? I can see two obvious ones, which are scribing layout lines, and then measuring the height of a workpiece to make sure it came out right (cylindrical part off of the lathe, standing on end, for example). That second use could (more precisely than calipers?) measure the length of a workpiece that is longer than my biggest micrometer, up to the height of the height gage.

Those two uses seem fairly useful-ish, but I assume I'm missing others. In a manual job shop like mine, am I going to get much use out of this, and if so, what accessories will I need?

I have a "Metric" scribe here that may fit your height gage.;) Might cost a fortune to ship to your address though.:o

I have a similar model I use occasionally. Usually, I have a mount for mounting one of my test indicators on to check heights on what ever and compare to gage blocks. Hardly ever use the vernier scale on one.

Ken

Layout as you said.

Measuring height, relative flatness, relative distance, etc.