What's new
What's new

Tramming a mill without moving the head ?

sasanifab

Aluminum
So I have a rambaudi v3, the head can be moved left to right but not forward to back. In a situation like this do you then have to shim the part your working on? The table is off 4 thousands on that axis?

So I have a tramming tool that is 6-7 inches apart , so the back of the table is about 4 thousands lower than the front. I guess my question is .... there must be a way to make small adjustments in the table? Maybe with the gib . The head rotates side to side but not front to back. url=https://postimg.cc/sB6ZdYs8]
496-C3831-613-E-4-A7-D-8-C40-B4-F764-AD15-DD.jpg
[/url]

So if I use this tool north south in the middle of the table the back of the table is about 4 thousands lower than the front

So your machine head tilts, but does not knod.

The high table may be overcompensation for expected setteling, wear or sag.

Loosen the knee gibs just a little, and you will be astounded how much that table will fall out front.

As the machine is a ram type, but not a Turret type (If I see correctly from the pics) My first effort would be to looseen the ram gib and slide the head out and back a few times. Also, If the machine is new to you, Loosen up the knee gibs a bit and exercise the knee a couple dozen times full travel, lots of lube.

Get the machine to settle, whether "New and tight" or "old and clogged" You want the mating parts to be truly mating.

Then double check your tramming set up. I don't have anything good to say about those double travel dial set ups.

An indi-col and a couple of feeler gauge strips oiled to the table is all I ever use.

But for vise work, I only tram the vise. it's the only part that matters '=)

I will take a picture of the saddle , there is several large bolts going down one size , i assume that's for adjustment? I

maybe try this--