What's new
What's new

Tramming Vertical Mill with Articulated Arm question

I am having a difficult time trying to understand how I am supposed to get the rod that goes into my collet to be perfectly straight with the rotational coupler and then to have that extend out in a 90" angle (probably does not matter on that part).

Out of all of the materials and bits and parts I have, I do not have what I feel is a accurate way to tram the spindle of the vertical mill. I am not a professional as of yet but I am working on it as fast as I can. This is a manual mill with a long bed and knee for the Z.

I am attaching photos if anyone can help me so I can start cutting some plastic injection molds for my wife. I have Mitutoyo Digital Dial Gauges, standard analog and several test dial indicators 0.0005" jeweled gauges. I do have a nice Noga magnetic base with the fine adjustment as well if this helps. Thank you for any advice.IMG_6969.jpgIMG_6968.jpg

It is unimportant that the indicator arm and body be inline with the spindle. Does not matter at all. To real a mill literally all you need to do is hold an indicator in the spindle.

I find indicating over parallels or better a big ring and only working one axis at a time are very helpful. You don't want the tip to bump badly as it goes over the t slots.

You do it just like you have it shown. I put a 123 block under the tip vs letting it ride on the table. Zero on the left, swing to the other side and adjust until the indicator reads half the error. Should only take a couple of tries to get within .001.

It’s faster when you adjust the nod to zero the indicator at the back of the table then come to the front and adjust the nod until the indicator is zero again. Each time will ~halve the error.