What's new
What's new

Truing an aluminum wheel

Ryan Slaback

Aluminum
I have a 17" aftermarket aluminum wheel with a flat spot in it from hitting a pothole. The wheels are no longer made and I can not seem to find a singleton anywhere. Before I toss the entire set in the scrap heap I want to at least try to take the flat spot out to see if it can be balanced again. Does anyone have any experience/suggestions? I was thinking of warming it with the torch and making some type of rolling wheel that can be set on the inside of the wheel. I have a South Bend 16/24 or a rim clamp tire machine that I can chuck the wheel on if necessary.

Also, I can not seem to find anyone locally that does this work routinely and to ship it somewhere, pay for it to be retrued and shipped back I may as well by a different used set.

Here we go

I have been repairing Alum rims for 5 years now.

Do you want to learn to do this long distance or would you rather UPS the thing here? Shipping is around $35-$40. That's one way I might add. Minimum cost to do the work is $55. I can give you a better labor cost if you could put a decent pic of the effected area.

Memo

more to consider

1---They are showing 2 industrial rims. Not the rims people bring in for repair. Any Idiot who would weld some no pattern HD rim like that needs to go back and play in the sandbox......Learn the laws of gross tonnage again.

2---The rim that has been "filled" had %100 of surface weld removed. Alum does not "nugget" or "finger" or "blend" like steel. It relies heavily on the surface weld for much of it's strength. Big Rule If it doesn't have to seal there, don't grind there.

I could go on about all I have learned about rims the past 5 years, but it would take too long to type with this messed up keyboard and a sticky spacebar.

Memo

yep,look around

Me bud repairs bent wheels,all alum. i think.
He is a welder forman by trade,so maybe look at local welding/fab. houses.
I need a new key board too!!!
gw