What's new
What's new

Turning Between Centers

kalister1

Plastic
I made a test bar to check alignment of the tailstock on the new to me 9" Logan Lathe. I have to really tighten the tailstock against the shaft to get a decent finish on the round stock close to the tailstock. The piece near the chuck looks good with very little pressure on the shaft. I have a live center in the tailstock.
How much pressure should I need to get a good finish? If I am using too much pressure, where do I look for the problem?

Do I need to say i am new to this?

Thanks

Attachments

• DSCF0620.jpg
    DSCF0620.jpg
    91.1 KB · Views: 2,243
If that started out as a solid bar then you beavered the shit out of it. On a test bar like that you only need to remove a small amount of metal between your collars. You do this so you don't have to remove a lot more metal when you take a test cut after offsetting the tailstock or something like that. Just cut the bar down .200 or .300 or something like that between collars and you will have plenty of material to remove a few thousandths when you want to check your centers. It might be so thin now that you are getting some chatter.

In the picture, I do not see a center in the chuck and I do not see a dog. Yet the title says turning between centers. So where did the test bar come from? Was it purchased or was it made on the lathe in the picture? If made, then how?

From your comment, I have to wonder if you have a low quality live center in the tailstock.

Larry

Small diameter of bar is too small, more than 8x diameter chatter will be an issue, I don't care how big or small the part is. If you are trying to drive with pressure between centers instead of a dog, that can also cause chatter.

First off, you are not turning between centers. You are turning in a chuck with a center at the tail end.