What's new
What's new

Turning Prehardened 4140 at RC40 hardness, problems.

I am currently a home-only machinist, and as such I've got my nice old Logan 820 that is practically new. It's done everything I need it to do, and sometimes I had to do some learning before it would do it.

In this case, I believe that's what I need-is a bit of learnin' prior to doin'.

I have four 10" long bars of 4140 steel, that has been hardened and tempered to RC40, and OD ground to 1.75". They were bought to build custom lefty rifle actions on, and thus, they need to be drilled 0.650" end-to-end, and then further machined. I have some access to a bridgeport and all the carbide mills I can buy, so that's not too bad. But turning and drilling, I need to get a hole that I can then bore, or a hole that I can thread an EDM wire through. Even after EDM, I'll need to turn and internally thread at one end, so I'm not escaping the operation.

I have been using CNMG32.25 and 21.35 series inserts and while they are OK, they are not at all sharp and don't seem like what I should be using on this size machine.

Chucked up one today and center drilled it with a normal high-speed-steel center drill, which went fine. Then I set up to face the end off, and it was *almost* too hard for the carbide to cut, but it needed a LOT of pressure and took off only the finest shaving, with a little spark here and there. I think with PCD or cermet insert it would probably turn better, but I don't know.

What would you do, short of re-temper back to RC32-35? I could do that, sure, but this is a learning experience at the moment-Maybe the re-temper is the way to go here, maybe not. Stuff does leave a glass-smooth finish when cutting with the current carbides, but just barely taking a scraping will do that.