What's new
What's new

unusual rack and pinion size of clausing colchester 11" bantam

lowCountryCamo

Stainless
So I am repairing a rack on a clausing Colchester 11". This was a school lathe and it was crashed. Rack has 4 teeth missing. I measured the rack on the comparator and the total depth is .190 and .224 pitch. The pinion is a 12t and measures 1.085. I calculated the DP n+2/diameter give 12.9DP. I have some small knowledge of gears only making a dozen or so over the years. This is not a metric lathe but could this be metric numbers? Could someone shed some light of this subject.

Thanks,

Steve Austin

So I am repairing a rack on a clausing Colchester 11". This was a school lathe and it was crashed. Rack has 4 teeth missing. I measured the rack on the comparator and the total depth is .190 and .224 pitch. The pinion is a 12t and measures 1.085. I calculated the DP n+2/diameter give 12.9DP. I have some small knowledge of gears only making a dozen or so over the years. This is not a metric lathe but could this be metric numbers? Could someone shed some light of this subject.

Thanks,

Steve Austin

I'm pretty sure it's the same as a Chipmaster. The rack should be 14DP 14.5 PA and the pinion is oddball but essentially 14DP IIRC. It's been many years since I made a replacement set for mine and I made both the rack and pinion. I recall having to shim the rack down to get proper tooth engagement with the pinion which was a PITA and likely due to a mis-measurement on my part as the old parts were totalled.

Anyway the rack was definitely 14DP. I bought a set of gear cutters to do it myself as this pitch rack off the shelf was unobtanium.

PDW

Last edited: