What's new
What's new

UPS has flat rate shipping now!

Rob F.

Diamond
Heads up on the new UPS program called "simple rate"
This seems a little better than the post office since we can use our own boxes, they are grouped by cubic inches, largest is 1728 cu in. all have a max weight of 50 lbs.
I just shipped a 32lb torque converter across the country in a 14x14x8 box and it cost $29, (standard way was close to $75)

Flat Rate Shipping from UPS(R) | UPS - United States

UPS launch of flat-rate parcel service puts the squeeze on FedEx - The Loadstar

deja vu all over again? Games, they play, the lot of them.

ISTR both UPS and FedEx have had flat-rate services buried SOMEWHERE in their tariffs for ages. Was at one time a standard-sized box and DID have a max weight, though.

Even so.. could help lots of us, thanks!

Have they updated their gps system so they can actually find an address? I've been accepting packages at Nv address for 18 years from USPS and Fedex, the UPS dolts still cannot f'ing find me. Literally, the only 4 story building, in a town of single story buildings, I've even modified my address to _________ Building, nope, the dolts drive right on by, and enter "address not found- return to sender". United Parcel Smashers is a joke, those dolts could not find their ass with both hands.

This service is a big plus for me. It will cut domestic shipping costs on camelback straight edges I make and ship to 1/3 of the best rate I could previously find. UPS has provided reliable and timely service with extremely rare exception for me.

Denis

After I read this I went out and opened my UPS delivered 6 foot 3/16 steel rods. The shipping tube was split open in 2 places like those pop n fresh dough containers. Of course they are all bent at the 44" mark. Screw UPS and Online Metals. I am in Virginia and they shipped them from all the way from Washington, that 3,000 mile UPS ground trip was bent bar stock waiting to happen.