What's new
What's new

Used tool addition thoughts for my shop (surface grinder)

NC Rick

Aluminum
Hi folks,
I'm hoping to get some input from the fine folks on here. I didn't put this question on the abrasive machining thread since I am asking such basic and general questions. I have been thinking of the possibility of adding a small surface grinder to my shop arsenal. I don't really NEED one I want one for General grinding of hardened parts and really to play with. I can't think of a reason my business really needs one besides profiling some tools and grinding some hardened fixtures and vise jaws. While I have some minor experience using small surface grinders it is limited and was a long time ago.

Anyhow, I'm watching the local used market and there are two 6x18 machines available to me right now. One is a Harig which belongs to a friend and the other is a Reid on FacePlant marketplace. I don't know how to check if these machines are any good. Really, I don't know where to start. Space is at a premium and I really have to carve out a spot for one to start. I know they are messy like my belt sander and bench grinders.

Any input will be appreciated so I can properly begin to over think this stuff. I'd say that my practical budget is at a laughable $2000.

Thanks!
Rick

I had a friend find a 6 X 18 Reid curbside on the bad part of town. He lugged it back to his shop, cleaned it up, and it held size ever since. Go figure.

I have an old K.O. Lee in my shop that I nearly chucked. Then one day I decided to take a few swipes on a part. Even tho I had grown up in a shop and seen my dad run one all the time, I thought I had little use for it. Now I can't live without it.

Hi folks,