What's new
What's new

Using flexible DRO scale

crossthread

Titanium
Good morning. I have a project where I need to accurately track a rotating element in a paper converting machine. I see various offerings of flexible scales but I have no experience with them. My plan is to attach the scale to a 12 inch diameter column and track the rotational position of a cutter head. Have any of you used these flexible scales and if so are there any pitfalls that you know of? I can't quite figure out how to join the two ends without losing indexing at the joint. Nothing from my search explains how to make that joint. It may be better to use an encoder disc but there is no access to the top or bottom of the rotating element. I need to measure from the side if possible. My other option is to say to heck with it and let the plant electricians figure it out. That is an issue in itself. I walked in here and there are eight guys standing around and I swear they don't have a full set of teeth between them. Thanks very much.

scale.jpg

What's your positioning requirement? 0-90, 0-360, continuous? If under 360, I'd expect a gap is NBD as long as you have a precision homing method placed within the range you need.

I'd almost wonder (if the accuracy requirements aren't super high) if an appropriate pot with rubber tire bearing against the side of whatever you're rotating could work.

0-360 unfortunately Milland. I thought of a semi flexible rack with an encoder wheel but gave up on that for one reason or another. Perhaps a rubber wheel with an encoder would work. Let me kick that around.
Thanks.

Perhaps an actual rotary encoder would work for you. Renishaw makes a wide variety of relative and absolute rotary encoders with quite large diameters. The precision can be extraordinary. Here is a link: Rotary incremental encoders