What's new
What's new

Using tiny cutters (0.062" dia)

borne2fly

Hot Rolled
I'm wondering how much material I can remove in a pass with something this small? The workpiece is aluminum. Using a HSS tool currently set up to run at 22,000rpm and 100ipm. I'm ready to take off 0.005" per pass with the side, or 0.005" with the face using a 50% stepover. These little cutters look awfully delicate and I have no experience with them except the few I broke as a kid fiddling with Dremels.

When using Frank Mari's tiny 3/64th endmills on copper, .0003 feed per tooth, at 4,000RPM (Max for the college's TM-1), and plenty of compressed air and cutting oil. Seemed to work. Anything much faster then that and all you heard was a ping and the endmill cutting air. :o

Dimitri

Agreed. I was limited to 3500 rpm and I ended up running around 1.5-2 ipm in aluminum if I remember correctly. Blast it with air to get the chips out and spray with WD40 every once in a while.

So even at 20000rpm it looks like I need to keep it down to around 12 ipm. That sounds a lot more realistic than the 100 ipm I was looking at before. Thanks for the replies ........ you guys just saved me some bucks in broken cutters!

What kind of endmill are you running? Single lip or multiple lip?

The reason I ask is that cutter run-out becomes exceedingly important with small endmills.

As was pointed out above the CPT (chip per tooth) is on the order of .0003".

Imagine a 3 tooth endmill being fed at .001" per revolution. If this endmill has a run-out of .001" the feed per revolution will no longer be evenly distributed among the cutter's edges.

In the extreme one cutting edge does all the cutting and the cutter is now overloaded and breaks.

Moral of the story: Check the runout of small cutters and correct it if it is a significant fraction of the chip-per-tooth for that cutter.

Arminius