What's new
What's new

Value of K.O. Lee T&C grinder

BadDog

Stainless
Just to set a frame of reference, for those that don't already know/remember, I'm one of the unwashed masses (i.e. the HSMs ;) ), and to make matters worse, I’m a newbie at that. So this is in reference to the value I would get from it. Also of relevance, I've been seriously kicking around getting a Baldor (or knock off) grinder and diamond wheel for sharpening lathe bits at the least, and maybe other things as possible. Looking at that bottomless pit of air spindles and all the other stuff makes this over-kill option look much more palatable. And finally, I’ve got a line on a couple of inexpensive small surface grinders which will be useful for some of the sharpening chores, though more limited AND still requiring significant investment in the air spindles and such.

So, I've found what appears to be a very nice K.O. Lee T&C grinder. It has a bucket and a box full of tooling including air spindle, universal holder/vise thingy, and lots of other tooling I don't recognize. Most all wearing the colors of the grinder, which I take to be original(?) medium/dark blue. My preliminary kicking the tires seems to indicate that everything is smooth and tight, though I didn’t go to much trouble.

First price was nuts IMO, so I discounted it without further consideration. Now he's come way down, and I'm not sure if this is something I should consider. From what I've seen, the tooling is the biggest part of the investment, so maybe I should reconsider?