What's new
What's new

Van Norman Oils and Oil Sights

MatthewL

Plastic
I have begun a basic restoration/clean up of my Van Norman No. 16 mill. I am not very experienced when it comes to different lubricants and what is best for different parts. I am under the impression Vactra no. 2 is good for all of the ways, but my machine has a system of very small copper tubes and grooves in the saddle that pump oil onto some of the table power feed gears, nut, and ways. Since Vactra no. 2 is a more viscous oil, will it be a good option for this, or should I get something thinner? The knee is supposed to be full of oil for the gears that control the different speeds for the table feed. Would non-detergent 30 weight oil work for this? There is also gears in the ram, would 30 weight work for this as well? There are also a lot of bearings in the machine. I know the spindle bearings are supposed to be greased, but what about all of the other bearings? What grease should I use for the bearings? I believe I am also supposed to use oil inside the cutter head. What oil should this be? What oil is recommended for the different bronze nuts? Are different oils or greases needed for different types of gears? There are several bevel gears and one worm gear.
There are several oil sights on the machine, and they are all broken. Is there a good place to find replacement oil sights? I checked McMaster, but they didn't have anything similar to mine. They are just small, press fit with a plastic window. I will take photos tomorrow if necessary.

Thanks,
-Matthew