What's new
What's new

Vertical manual mill options - need guidance

Sfsmedic

Plastic
Long time reader newly registered poster,I am seeking guidance on an old question that doesn't seem to have been asked in a few years. I'm only asking again because things change over the years.

I am an apprentice gunsmith currently taking my machining classes and intend to purchase a manual vertical mill in the next 4-6 months and I have no idea what brands are good and what aren't etc.

In the shop I'm training in we use a very old Enco pulley speed Bridgeport clone (I believe that's a J-machine?) which is very reliable and very accurate (much to my surprise after everything I've read here) and a series 1, 2 speed Bridgeport. The surprising thing is that the enco is the main workhorse.

While of course everyone says buy a Bridgeport and I'd love to I am not sure I can afford to for my first machine. I am looking for input on other viable machines that are a good reliable accurate product for the money. I'm after what works and works well not necessarily paying for a name.

I am not a hobbyist gunsmith I will be doing this as my full time job and therefore is very little work I can do without needing a mill. Plus I'll need to be buying a lot of tooling, a lathe and surface grinder eventually so anything saved without sacrificing accuracy is obviously a good thing.

Thanks in advance,
Brett

Not necessarily it the desired direction for price but a schaublin 13 or deckel fp1 or fp2 or other mills of that type would seem better suited to gun smithing than a Bridgeport unless you need to cut really long fluted barrels or something like that. You can look around the deckel pages on lathes.co.uk site and see all the different companies that made similar machines and then start looking and hope to get lucky to find a good machine with tooling. Otherwise with a new unmentionable benchtop machine is probably best :)
L

Sent from my XT1072 using Tapatalk