What's new
What's new

Want opinions on mounting drill press vise

cj133

Aluminum
Hi all,

As you may recall I'm very new to this and have finally bought a vise for the Canedy-Otto. Before I start drilling holes in the table I'd like some opinions on the best position to mount it in for general work.

If this was yours what position would you mount it in and how would you mount it?

I'm guessing with the vise handle towards me may be best and mounted by drilling and tapping a few holes in the table so it can be easily removed without messing with nuts and washers every time?

Attachments

• DSC_0198.jpg
    DSC_0198.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 6,003
  • DSC_0199.jpg
    DSC_0199.jpg
    96.4 KB · Views: 4,670
  • DSC_0201.jpg
    DSC_0201.jpg
    98.4 KB · Views: 2,203
  • IMAG0679.jpg
    IMAG0679.jpg
    100 KB · Views: 1,708
I am not a fan of cheap (no matter what you paid) Chinese vises with once-reputable American names on them. I would use the existing table slots to attach that vise until you get a better one. No sense degrading a nice American drill press by drilling holes in it.

If you are curious, I use a Heinrich vise on my large drill press. Mostly, I use a 6-SV, but I have a couple others for certain jobs. Shop for a good used one on eBay. Heinrich Company - Grip-Master Vises - Racine, Wisconsin http://www.ebay.com/itm/Heinrich-6-sv-drill-press-vise-/161819882377?hash=item25ad377389

Larry

I would sell that monstrosity and get a simple vice, about 4" wide, opens 6" or so. set it on the table when you need it, set it aside when you don't. I have used drill presses for near 50 years and never bolted down a drill press vice. I probably have used a "c" clamp a few times but never bolted one down.