What's new
What's new

Wells Index 747 Stuck Quill

LanierKnives

Plastic
I recently bought an old Wells Index mill for what a thought was a pretty good price. When I picked it up I checked the gibs and ways of the table and knee, but silly me didn’t even check the Quill itself. Anyways.. it won’t go up or down. I’m new to mills and I don’t know what to do. Any help would be appreciated. I’ll try to upload some pictures of it in a moment.

Thanks,
Seth

BB47CC2D-4F10-4819-B7AA-DB2A0F1EDDF3.jpg

Welcome aboard, Seth!

I also have a 747, but I don't know what the problem could be. I would suggest moving all the levers, it may have the power downfeed engaged.

At least Index is still in business. Give them a call, I'm sure they can help you.

Yeah, I went through all the levers and read the Owner’s manual. No help there. Might resort to disassembling the whole head. It probably needs to be disassembled and cleaned up anyways.

Yes, when I found an Index Mill I was happy to purchase it because they are still in business.

I'll second what eKretz said. It's really a pretty simple design and there is not a whole lot to impede the quills movement so make sure the quill lock is off and put the spindle feed in neutral.

-Ron

I did what y'all suggested and still didn't get any movement in the quill. The clamp is off (up position from what I understand), and the switch above the quill is set on "N". Looks like I'll have my hands full during my time off work this week.

Wrong feed lever. The one you want is right above the clamp lever. That's the one that engages/disengages feed. Having the other lever in "N" just means that one can feed the spindle with the handwheel rather than power feed. The spindle will still seem to be locked if you try to move it with the side handle and the feed is engaged.

20191223_094438.jpg