What's new
What's new

Beginner Hobby Machinist Looking at These 2 Mills. Can anyone tell me about them?

AmericanMaker

Aluminum
Hi,
I am a beginner hobby machinist looking at 2 mill options.
They seem like they might be good options for me to start with. And I like the price point.
I know I'll have to do some work to whichever I pick and that does not concern me much.
Can anyone tell me about a little about them and if you think the prices are fair?
Thank you!

Bridgeport 9”x32” M Head milling machine for $1,650
Some price flexability.
1/2 hp with universal quick switch spindle.
Has 5ea collets and a repaired Bridgeport vise. 240v 3ph.
8e1GhnFl.jpg

1HP Cincinnati Mill Serial# 6J1V52-302 for $1,300 (obo)
It's a Toolmaster but there is no model number.
But I found some manuals with variations of 6J1V52.
Not much tooling.
Q95Qwhll.jpg

Not a fan of round rams, big step down from V ram in a couple ways

Dunno bout the other one

At that budget most machines will be dicey, but you might be able to get a decent v ram

Boat anchors and overpriced

Why do you want an elephant?

Take the time to ask around for one in great condition

These iron monsters are everywhere and at junk price

They are only worth what someone will pay, so pay no more than junk price and they can be glad you want to haul them off.

Get them to throw in tools and cutters with a really good vise too

really

Boat anchors and overpriced
Take the time to ask around for one in great condition

I've been trying for the past month on Ebay, Craigslist and FB Marketplace.
The nice ones are 4K and up.
And people are not budging on prices other than $200 here and there.
I can't find anything local to me where I can show up with cash and see what happens.
And I don't want a mini-mill ... especially the China brands.
For what I'm looking for I gotta drive 4 hours or more.
Pretty frustrating.

If these are your only 2 choices, I'd go for the Cincinnati. 1hp isn't a lot,