What's new
What's new

What causing this "galling"?

FlyinChip

Aluminum
Hi all, I was slowly cutting threads using HSS and had this what i call galling issue. Then I bought a Carbide 60 degree cutter and had similar issues. I went a little deeper and the tip broke off, so scratch one brand new bit. Slow speed. Not sure why this happening but I'm not very experienced.

Somehow it seems like maybe the 1018 steel part metal quality may be an issue?

Stumped!

threads galling by Chris P, on Flickr

Could be lots of things. We need to know what speed you're threading at, it could be possible its TO SLOW, tearing the metal instead of cutting it. Also did you grind your HSS cutter by hand? Clearances my be off. It also looks like you're cutting on both side of the thread, do you have the compound set to 30 degrees, or 29? 1018 can be hard to work with as well. Poor finishes especially with carbide are common at low speeds. Carbide needs to run very fast as opposed to HSS

Very typical problem for something like 1018 steel.
Try smaller DOC and occasional "spring pass" between cuts. Good thread cutting oil is also helpful.

Something like 4140 prehard is lot easier to get nice threads.

Thanks for the reply guys. Lot of good leads to follow.

Like I said I am new. It's a 60 degree tool so I assumed threads are fully cut going in 5-10 thousanths per pass and didnt think the compound angle made a difference since the tool would be going straight in about 5 thiousanths or so per pass.

No oil was used I will try that, have 766 on hand.

Yes was turning very slow. This is 3/4" diameter 10TPI

Using thus piece 1018 for practice run before I get into the 304 for the actual part. It's a,long piece so I can try until I get this right.

Made the HSS tool myself (actually modified one to fit into an example thread) but bought the 60 degree carbide tipped tool when that didnt work, assumed I made it wrong and the store bought would work.