What's new
What's new

What is a good lathe that does imperial and metric? Toolroom Lathe Sized

mitchapalooza88

Plastic
I currently have a Southbend Heavy 10 and I know I can get some metric gearing for it but I have some experience on a Clausing-Metosa C1440S and I really like the setup of this machine. Its just too big.

What are some good options for a nice an Imperial/Metric lathe that's about the size and maybe cost of a South Bend?

Thanks dudes

Also this is for home use.

I currently have a Southbend Heavy 10 and I know I can get some metric gearing for it but I have some experience on a Clausing-Metosa C1440S and I really like the setup of this machine. Its just too big.

What are some good options for a nice an Imperial/Metric lathe that's about the size and maybe cost of a South Bend?

Thanks dudes

Also this is for home use.

Hardinge HLV-H EM, but you're not going to like the price.

Harrison m300 13x40 metric+english with no gear changes. New ones are made in China not England. You do have to swap gears for moduale or some other kind I forgot. Those two gears are often lost.
Some are native English threading others are native metric.
Bill D.

Graziano SAG12 Metric and inch treading without changing any gears

Peter

We have a SAG17 (and a TL-1, long story) which is quite nice but it is a bit low to the ground. I suspect Italian dudes of the postwar period were somewhat petite by current standards. Come to think of it, I believe our Victor (a Hardinge copy, which for some reason is on riser blocks and suitable for 6' or taller staff), can do metric and inch as well.

Monarch 10EE with an IM gearbox and dual IM dials. While you're at it, make sure it has a 30" bed.

LOL! And greater swing .. but mine is branded "Cazeneuve"..

Seriously, UK, Nederlands, Belgium, France, Italy, Korea, Japan, and Germany ALL made one or more right-decent manual lathes with Inch/metric built-in.