What's new
What's new

What grade of end mill to use on hardfacing?

crossthread

Titanium
I have a job to do on a piece of farm equipment that has been hardfaced with Dynarod tungsten carbide. To make matters worse it has been applied in a zig zag pattern which makes it an interrupted cut. I need to mill 1" slots 2" long to mount these wear plates. The base material is .5" thick 4140. What would be your choice of material for cutting these slots? If anybody has tried this and failed, then I will look into water jetting although I have no experience with cutting tungsten with a waterjet. Thanks.

I have a job to do on a piece of farm equipment that has been hardfaced with Dynarod tungsten carbide. To make matters worse it has been applied in a zig zag pattern which makes it an interrupted cut. I need to mill 1" slots 2" long to mount these wear plates. The base material is .5" thick 4140. What would be your choice of material for cutting these slots? If anybody has tried this and failed, then I will look into water jetting although I have no experience with cutting tungsten with a waterjet. Thanks.

grinder job and diamond wheel too. as aluminum oxide wheel usually wont do much on tungsten carbide

Simple template and hand held plasma cutter, have done hundreds of holes - slots for farm stuff, goes fast and easy and you really don't notice hard facing in the slightest.

Milling slots in farm wear components is going to cost you more in cutters than you can make doing it.

Thanks guys. I guess I really didn't think this one through enough. I hear slots I think milling. I have a plasma torch and grinders. I will probably do the bulk of the cutting with the plasma torch and clean it up with the grinder. Thanks so much for the reality check.

+1 for plasma