What's new
What's new

What Insert to use for Partial Radius Groove ?

RocknRonF

Plastic
Hi Guys, Beginner here. I have to cut this .040-.041"Radius Groove in a part, .056" deep into the part. What Size Full Nose Radius Insert do I need to accomplish this? I assume I use a standard .047" Full Nose Radius insert and by going only .056" deep, should leave me with the .040-.041" Radius but I'm not sure. There must be a formula for this. Any suggestions? This will be done on a manual lathe.
Groove.jpg

The tolerance for the groove radius is a bit precious. You will be at the mercy of the insert manufacturer, and I bet they will not guarantee +/-.0005" on the radius.

You would be less sensitive to tool radius if you interpolated with a .031" or even smaller radius insert. Maybe even a 331 V insert instead of a grooving insert. The 331 should have a .016" radius, and may have a sufficiently acute angle to make your groove.

Regards.

Mike

The tolerance for the groove radius is a bit precious. You will be at the mercy of the insert manufacturer, and I bet they will not guarantee +/-.0005" on the radius.

You would be less sensitive to tool radius if you interpolated with a .031" or even smaller radius insert. Maybe even a 331 V insert instead of a grooving insert. The 331 should have a .016" radius, and may have a sufficiently acute angle to make your groove.

Regards.

Mike

Whoops, never mind on interpolating the groove, I just saw "manual lathe". Good luck :o.

Regards.

Mike

...I assume I use a standard .047" Full Nose Radius insert and by going only .056" deep, should leave me with the .040-.041" Radius but I'm not sure.
If your tool is .047" rad, the groove is going to be .047" rad no matter how deep you cut it.

The width is not called out- as mentioned previously, you need a .040"/.041" radius grooving tool, plunge .056" deep. The width of the groove will be the same as the grooving tool (.080"/.082"), since the depth is greater than the radius.