What's new
What's new

What kind of boring bar is this?

FlyinChip

Aluminum
hi all, see picture, I need to cut a keyway as shown. I just don't know what that type of boring bar with a crossways tool holder that is called, or where to get one.

If anyone could point me in the direction, that would be appreciated!

boring bar keyway.jpg

what material to make the boring bar with? I would think that anything soft enough to drill crosswise (if thats what you do), would not be rigid enough. I did find "double end boring bar" on ebay with 3/16" square tool holding (set screw holds the hss).

i'm pretty new at this, as is pretty obvious. but already starting to understand this one. so thanks for the info

I have a 1/2" diameter boring bar holder for my qc toolpost, so 1/2" bar.

lathe is a SB Heavy 10

Cold-rolled (1018) works ok. 1/2" diameter is pretty thin if you are trying to cut a long keyway though. If it is a wide keyway you can use a narrower cutter and do it in two sections which will cut down on the cutting and bending forces. I've use such on a mill with a rapid feed handle but it seems to me it will be a tough go on a lathe without a long-throw carriage motion.

I have cut 3/8" keyways on the mill, in two passes and it takes a lot of strokes and a fair amount of pressure. You'll need a sharp cutter with adequate relief on both sides. If your lathe has a high geared carriage like the smaller South Bends it will take a lot of force on the handwheel. I personally would probably not attempt to use power feed for that.

what material to make the boring bar with? I would think that anything soft enough to drill crosswise (if thats what you do), would not be rigid enough.

My terms may be totally wrong.. But. HARDNESS or SOFTNESS of a STEEL bar has nothing to do with
how much force it takes to deflect it.. Modulus of Elasticy or something (8am Class, I slept
through materials)..