What's new
What's new

What makes a good quality lathe?

beeser

Cast Iron
I'm a novice home machinist that recently purchased a fairly new Bridgeport 9x48 lathe and a Victor 1440G lathe. I also do a fair amount of woodworking and have a Oneway 2436 lathe for woodturning. I'm confident that the Oneway lathe is well built and screams quality compared to other woodturning lathes I've seen and used. It's hard to put into words what makes the Oneway a quality machine but it's very obvious to me. That can't be said for the Victor. Somehow it seems to fall short of giving me the feeling that a lot of care went into manufacturing it. As a result I'll probably replace it with something hopefully better. So, toward that end what makes a good quality metal working lathe?

...So, toward that end what makes a good quality metal working lathe?

The same thing that makes a good quality woodworking lathe.

Just remember that a metal lathe is probably 10X more complicated than a wood working lathe. It will have many more parts
and is required to work to much more precise dimensions than a woodworking lathe. A $2000 woodworking lathe will be a
pretty nice machine--you're not going to get much of a metalworking lathe for two grand. If you take that two grand, however,
and multiply it by 10 then you're going to be looking at a much better machine. Even at that, to get a real quality lathe you
probably need to double the amount again...

As teachmeplease has said, rigidity but also how carefully the pieces and parts are finished and fit together. How smooth the controls are. Reputation from those that have used them. How quiet they are and availability of spare parts. What goes hand in hand is cost.