What's new
What's new

What Material for DIY parallels

Bshady

Plastic
Hey Everybody!

I'm new to machining! just got my first CNC mill and I already love it!

I am looking to make some parallels and I am not sure whether to go with aluminum or Steel.

Aluminum from Grainger:
GRAINGER APPROVED Aluminum Flat Bar Stock, 0.125" Thickness, 2" x 72" W x L, Alloy 6061 - 2EYV8'|'2EYV8 - Grainger

It is cheap, easy to machine, super soft so I won't damage endmills or anything else.

Steel from Home Depot:
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Everbilt-2-in-x-36-in-Plain-Steel-Flat-Bar-with-1-8-in-Thick-801807/204225718

I read on this forum that using a harder material means it won't lose its parallelism so fast.

I don't want to get the precision ground stock as I don't have the money for that yet.

What do you guys think? I'm kinda feeling like I want to go with the aluminum but What do I know!

Making parallels for your CNC mill will take some skills you don't have yet. On top of it, you'll need tool steel, grinding, hardening, metrology equipment and some other stuff like... parallels. :)

Just buy a set. A new Chinese set of 1/8"-thick parallels or a used set of a good brand can be bought for $30-$60 and will be more than sufficient for your needs. Any of them will be a way better and less expensive than anything you can make at this point. This is one of the basic precision tools you must have for milling.

And forget about Grainger, Home Depot, Walmart or Menards as your metal suppliers. You didn't buy your CNC mill from one of those, did you? :)

One of the best home shop machining Web sites I can recommend is HSM. I can guarantee you'll like it.

See if you can get hold of some old linear bearing slides and cut them to length with a grinder, they're ready hardened, ready ground and providing both parallels are cut from the same length they're the same size, here's mine:

P4010413.jpg

Last edited: