What's new
What's new

What Stone Do I Need?

GabrielB

Plastic
I've just bought a second hand pillar drill, a traditional manufacturer in the UK called Meddings. It's in pretty good shape but has a few battle scars on the drill table. Nothing too serious but big enough to catch the odd small bit of swarf and consequently upset an accurate set up.

Having searched posts on this subject my plan is simply to clean and fill the holes with epoxy metal (JB Weld or similar) and then make flat.

So here's my question - what stone do I need to use? I'm planning to leave the epoxy metal just proud of the existing surface and then grind/polish flat, but I have no experience of stones or how best to use them. What is the best size, shape, grit and type to use and how best to use it?

As you may have guessed I'm a noob in this area so any/all advice would be gratefully received.

Thank you.