What's new
What's new

Work Holding and Cutting Thin Aluminum on a Mill

webgeek

Plastic
Hi all; I've moved on from my tiny import CNC mill I converted myself to a real (though still a budget model) 3 axis CNC machine with 24" x 15" table travel. I'm a total amateur at CNC machining and have slowly been learning all the ins and outs as I go. I think I've gotten to be reasonably good at the few operations I need to make my parts but I recognize that I have a very long ways to go. For reference, I sell small parts to people making radio-controlled four to eight rotor helicopters (quadcopters).

With my previous machine, I was only able to make one or two parts at a time and it took forever to machine much at all. This new machine is both much larger and faster so I want to leverage that all I can. The problem is, I'm not sure the best way to do that and I'm hoping you guys can point me in the right direction.

I've attached an image that represents the type of parts I make currently - basically 2d profiles around the whole perimeter with some drilling and a little bit of pocketing to create the retaining channels. The material is either .25" or .09" - I'm looking for advice on how to machine these style of parts as quickly as possible - basically set up the machine to create a ton of them and come back in a few hours to find them all done.

I've tried doing a variety of things on my smaller machine and some things work well but none of them seem to scale up effectively. To date I've done this: