What's new
What's new

Worn lathe ways and more - where to start in rebuilding grandpa's lathe?

Blackbeard95

Plastic
I have a Boxford VSL that was given to me by my late grandfather - a former prisoner of war, he started a chemical company when he got home after the War. My lathe originally belonged to his company and it got a lot of use over the years so the ways are badly worn (.005").

I am right now moving my machines to Detroit, ironically I'm working for a company that is well known for making lathes, but I'm not in the turning division so I'm far from an expert on this topic. I'd really like to get this lathe restored to perfect condition - or about as perfect as I can get, and I'm going to need the advice of some of you older more experienced guys to get it done right and not screw up.

Right not I'm taking the lathe apart so I can move it to my new house in Michigan. While the deconstruction is necessitated by weight reduction, it's also a good opportunity for me to bag-and-tag all the parts I will catch up with later. The question that I keep wondering about, is what am I going to do with these ways? I have heard that it's bad practice to scrape in visible surfaces on a machine tool, which leaves me looking at grinding. How does the grinding process work? I take the ways off the lathe, bring it to a machine tool grinder, then they grind it all pretty and precise? How much should I expect to pay for this? The lathe is 20" between centers probably 3 feet total length on the ways.

Now to make things more difficult - I pulled out all 4 bolts that hold the lathe ways onto the cabinet. Despite doing this, I can't lift the ways off. I think there might be some kind of leveling epoxy or something holding the ways in place. I tried putting a car jack under the ways, but I don't have the confidence to crank that thing tight. Should I go ahead and force the ways off the cabinet or am I rightly worried that I will break something?