What's new
What's new

Would like advice on a CNC lathe / turning center

ecdez

Plastic
I've been on my own now for 3 years and finally at the end of this year I'll have some money that needs to be spent (for tax purposes). One thing I don't have is a CNC lathe or turning center. I've bought 1 used CNC machine before and it turned out to be a real lemon. Mostly my fault as I didn't do diligent homework on the front end but the seller was a little misleading as well. Since then I've been scared to buy a used CNC. Is it a well founded fear? Should I just bite the bullet and go new?

Best new fit for me seems to be a Haas TL-1, based on size and price. If I can get a used machine, of any brand, for a fraction of the cost should I even consider it? I'm not an electrical engineer but I'm not the average dummy either. Probably slight above the average dummy :). I know all machines go down at some point but some are easier to service than others. Is there something to stay away from?

Anyway, requirements are;

Light production work; probably just 5-6 of the same part at a time.

Biggest thing I'd currently like to make is about 7"d x 3" long but most of the other stuff is 2.5"d and under and around 6"-10" long.

Space is an issue in my shop.

I have single phase power but a 15hp rotary PC.

Budget - I'm a 1 man shop and money is tight every week but I have a contract that wraps up soon that will leave me with a few extra to spend. Just enough to ruin my comfy tax filing status.

Any thoughts? Any considerations I left out?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I have used this lathe a lot and found it very good. I heard they are in demand for used machines.

I've had good luck with Haas
there phone support is generally solid
there repair parts cost less than Fanuc and Mitsubishi (mazak)
and there construction is often brilliantly simple.
they are NOT balls out metal munchers. if that's what you need look elsewhere.
if what you need is mom and pop cnc they are good machines