What's new
What's new

WWYD? Employment at job shop or firearms manufacturer?

StinkyDan

Aluminum
Ive been applying at different shops in my area lately and have been offered a job at a local firearms manufacturer and also at a job shop that makes custom welding fixtures and other short-run type work. Im youngish (30) and looking for opinions as to which might be a better job in the long run. Both places are offering me the same wage and shift, and both are nice climate-controlled buildings. I have more experience wtih lathes than mills (both manual and cnc) but have a good general knowledge of most machining processes and really want to learn as much as i can about things that i have little experience with.

The firearms manufacturer has a very new shop with mostly newer mazak machines and has recently been awarded some big contracts and overtime is plentiful.

The job shop has recently been given a tax credit and is expanding within the next year or so. The job shop has a wider variety of machines and does more diverse work.

Both are dayshift, same pay, nice clean shops running multiple shifts with overtime available.

Making firearms would be really cool IMO, but I'm wondering if i would better diversify my skillset working at the job shop. Both companies seem to have room for advancement just not sure if the job shop would allow me to go farther than the firearms manufacturer.

Like i said I'm young and would really like some advice from anyone who has an opinion or experience with either type of work or anything that relates at all to the situation I'm in.

Thank you,
Dan

Other things being equal (work atmosphere, reasonable management, pay/benefits, job stability etc.) I'd lean toward the job shop. Making the same thing(s) over and over, months on end can get old fast, and mass production as an operator isn't likely to result in much improvement of your skills. After a while you'll feel as much a robot as the machines you're using!