What's new
What's new

Yam 1000 Lathe - Opinions and Estimated Value Opinions Needed

dalmatiangirl61

Diamond
I am thinking about going to look at an older 14 x 40 YAM 1000 lathe that is for sale locally, it is a bare machine, ie no chucks, no steady or follower rests, no tooling. I have no experience with this mfr of lathes, it is made in Taiwan, any opinions on whether or not these were decent machines?

Seller is asking $2500 for it, but its been for sale for a while so probably not a steal at that price, I have a different number in mind, but it may not be realistic either, so need some other opinions on its value.

I have a couple of unused chucks laying around, 8" 3 and a 4 jaw pretty sure one is a D1-6 which should fit it, other would need a backing plate. And should I get it will pull most of the tooling I have for the 12x36 unmentionable lathe and sell that machine, mentioned selling it last night in front of a group of friends and one is interested in it.

Need opinions on the YAM, and opinions on value of a bare bones machine. If there are any known trouble areas on the YAM, please advise on what to inspect.

Thanks!

Attachments

• yam 1.jpg
    yam 1.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 716
I believe that YAM is a quality machine and I also feel that the $2500 asking price is a give away price..if you offered less and got the machine you would probably have trouble sleeping at night. Not follow or steady is sort of a downer though.

Stuart

I am thinking about going to look at an older 14 x 40 YAM 1000 lathe that is for sale locally, it is a bare machine, ie no chucks, no steady or follower rests, no tooling. I have no experience with this mfr of lathes, it is made in Taiwan, any opinions on whether or not these were decent machines?

Seller is asking $2500 for it, but its been for sale for a while so probably not a steal at that price, I have a different number in mind, but it may not be realistic either, so need some other opinions on its value.