Yearly tooling inspections
Close
Login to Your Account
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    plantsville ct. usa
    Posts
    498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Default Yearly tooling inspections

    I work in an aerospace job shop as a gage calibration tech and I have a question about fixtures and tooling. We have a lot of weld, EDM and milling fixtures, none used for inspection that are in the calibration system on a yearly basis. My question is are most shops calibrating all their shop fixtures? The guy who did my job before me needed to work a ton of overtime and would calibrate a door knob if it would give him an extra 10 minutes of OT.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Ohio
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default

    Weld fixture calibration? You may have answered your own question with your last statement.... However I have seen the output amperage of welding machines "calibrated".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hatch, NM Chile capital of the WORLD
    Posts
    9,215
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    14843
    Likes (Received)
    11028

    Default

    I can see a double check inspection before use if the fixture hasn't been used in many years,

    But, to pull a fixture off the shelf, dust it off and inspect it, and then put it back to be...
    Inspected Next Year... Again... for no reason.

    F'n Stupid.


    I've got a customer that used to (and they still might) send every thread gage they have out for calibration every six months.

    The stupid special thread gage that they bought 20 years ago for one job, and hasn't been used since.. has gone out to be calibrated 40 times for no reason.


    Its just what happens when people try and justify their jobs.

  4. Likes yardbird, gregormarwick liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Posts
    4,363
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    1693
    Likes (Received)
    2072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobw View Post
    I can see a double check inspection before use if the fixture hasn't been used in many years,

    But, to pull a fixture off the shelf, dust it off and inspect it, and then put it back to be...
    Inspected Next Year... Again... for no reason.

    F'n Stupid.


    I've got a customer that used to (and they still might) send every thread gage they have out for calibration every six months.

    The stupid special thread gage that they bought 20 years ago for one job, and hasn't been used since.. has gone out to be calibrated 40 times for no reason.


    Its just what happens when people try and justify their jobs.
    Yep, sounds like an overpaid QC/QA manager () trying to justify their 6 figure salary... at least where I have been that would be the goal.
    Other than incoming inspection if you had the fixture outsourced, and maybe an inspection if you start getting bad parts... Having it as part of a routine yearly inspection is asinine.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    7,832
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    478
    Likes (Received)
    3721

    Default

    Tag stating: Gage not in service. Calibrate before usage.

  7. Likes Bobw, Mtndew liked this post
  8. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New York
    Posts
    10,317
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2672

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rich p View Post
    I work in an aerospace job shop as a gage calibration tech and I have a question about fixtures and tooling. We have a lot of weld, EDM and milling fixtures, none used for inspection that are in the calibration system on a yearly basis. My question is are most shops calibrating all their shop fixtures? The guy who did my job before me needed to work a ton of overtime and would calibrate a door knob if it would give him an extra 10 minutes of OT.
    .
    most milling fixtures when tolerances require it are checked by probing or indicating. even fixture keyed to table slots if tight tolerance it might need a fine adjustment. I probably done a few thousand times over the years.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default

    Worked in aerospace for many years, our inspection guidelines were if any tool, fixture, etc. was used for product acceptance it had to be calibrated at least yearly. If it was not used for a two year period, went on an inactive tool list & recalibrate before use. Thousands of tools, gages, test equipment went through our calibration lab yearly. Warehouse full of inactive stuff.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New York
    Posts
    10,317
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2672

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by E189552 View Post
    Worked in aerospace for many years, our inspection guidelines were if any tool, fixture, etc. was used for product acceptance it had to be calibrated at least yearly. If it was not used for a two year period, went on an inactive tool list & recalibrate before use. Thousands of tools, gages, test equipment went through our calibration lab yearly. Warehouse full of inactive stuff.
    .
    milling fixture can be inspected every second a billion times a year. still when bolted down to a machine it needs to be check then and there if tolerances require it. usually part of a setup check list.
    .
    its like checking a airplane yearly..... still when pilot ready to takeoff he usually does a preflight checklist.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Country
    SPAIN
    Posts
    3,930
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    2289
    Likes (Received)
    1542

    Default

    About a year before i sold my place (so 3.5 years ago now) i had a flow-down from an instrument company (Aerospace) where their acceptance fixtures that we used, had to have annual calibration.
    This was for cockpit panel instruments - it mimicked installation - and if you've ever seen the float on Dzus Fasteners you'd understand that a wooden rule would be more than accurate enough
    I also was privy to some provisional blurb for machining fixtures (from same company) - wanting annual checks on fixtures which make their parts.
    This isn't a bad idea i guess - check fixture for general condition, and location pins for damage or wear and component fit etc, although i did explain we did that as standard practice every time we set the part.
    Of course, their reply was do you document this and if not why not - i said it was just good practice and yes- all good practice apparently needs documenting and turning into a works instruction and signing off etc...


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •