What's new

Should I buy a gas or arc welder ?

• Thread starter Admin5
  • Start date
  • Replies 1
  • Views 13,716
A

Admin5

Posted by ken mui on November 20, In Reply to: Should I buy a gas or arc welder? posted by Kevin Duckworth on the WWWMachine Shop board

: I need to weld steel which will be mostly 1/4" at home. I don't have 3 phase power. Should I buy a gas or arc welding set?
: Thanks

: Kevin

Hi Kevin, sorry to play devil's advocate but i'm a welding engineer for
a large welding equipment manufacturer who supplies the industry and retail market

First , the majority of oxy acetylene outfits we manufacture and sell to the industry
are "straight cutters" not combo kits ( welding and cutting handles ) which tells you
that in the industry, most people only use their torches for cutting rather
than welding and brazing. We also make and sell thousands of cutting and heating tips
to each welding tip

Secondly, I work closely with all of the welding schools in the area and they are
all putting less emphasis on the gas welding part of the curriculum

Last we supply the retail market through places such as Home Depot, and
statistically, we sell about 20 MIG welders for every stick and gas welding
outfit.

Once you have a mig welder, you will seldom use your torches for welding. Don't get me wrong though,
torches are still a necessary item in your shop for heating and cutting. Also, as someone
already mentioned, if you only use your torches for cutting, brazing and heating you
can use propane which is much cheaper than acetylene.
It also requires much less skill to MIG weld than it does to gas weld ( and stick and TIG weld),
and you can weld a variety of materials with the arc welders

I hope this doesn't confuse you more.

Hi to new wending guy:

I'm a civil engineer, but more or less a home type mechanic. While the advice from a sales person may be good for some, let me relate about me.