What's new
What's new

50 bmg handloader

Pyro117

Plastic
Hi im new to whole machinest thing but was currious if i bought the metal. Would some one who has more about machining be willing to make a 50bmg handloader. Like the lee classic loader. I like the way the concept is and you just need basic stuff, and there smaller and take up less room than a full on table mounted turrent loader

polite answer is not a chance.
several reasons
1 not a good idea to start with
2 we do this for money not as a charity
3 those loaders don't work all that well on small stuff
4 when ever if I bought the metal is used,
usually means some one thinks that is the expensive part of the job.

now if you really want one made
provide a drawing with specifications,
post an RFQ and get out your wallet.
for starters go look at what PTG will charge for a reamer

Handloader for .50BMG... Good luck with that. I have one of the RCBS AmmoMaster presses. That monster has a HUGE mechanical advantage built into the lever/ram mechanics. Even so, it is a workout sizing brass. Unless your name is Dr. Bruce Banner, Forget about a hand loader for .50BMG and move on... I doubt such a creation would even work for 1% of the population. The forces needed to set back the shoulder on that case are well beyond the grip strength of most mortals and even a few demi-gods!!! Frankly, the $500+ the AmmoMaster set me back years ago was money well spent! Although I don't use it for anything other than the BMG. A slightly askew 30/06 will be destroyed before you can even feel the resistance on the lever.

Just make sure you mount it to a sturdy and VERY heavy bench. Again the force required to size .50BMG is huge! If the bench is not heavy enough you will move the bench before you size the brass.