What's new
What's new

advice for spray-n-bake finishes

redhawk41

Plastic
Hello,
I'm new to this form but looking for imput on learning to apply spray on thermal set epoxy finishes. This would be Gun kote,and the other 20 or so products like it. I have bought a blast cabnet and air brush. I'm still building the bake oven 22x22x48. I'm looking for imput on which finishes prove to be easier to learn on what to look for. Right now it's all about finishing my oven, I'm insulating and fabing a door.Thanks for your help.

Gun Kote is what I use. The metal must be clean. I use degrease spray,acetone,denatured alochol, hot soapy water, etc. (Any or all).
I clean at least three times. Before blasting ,after blasting and before painting.
Heat the metal up with a heat gun before spraying. And spray all the parts.

for an absolute bullet proof finish, go with blast, parkerization then Norrels Moly Coat.

the park gives the finish something soild to bite onto and adds a "back-up" protection.

caspian

Ive had exellent results with Gunkote, I was only doing handguns so I just bought a small toaster oven :)

My Prep was similar to Claudes. Degrease, blast, degrease again. I would pre-heat in the oven to about 125 or 150. Airbrush on, then bake to cure.

Usually a couple of strategicly placed pins or hangers to keep the finished surfaces from touching anything works best

Has anyone tried the pretreatment K-phos or whatever Gunkote calls it. I can't seem to find much info on the product. It is sold as a pretreatment to Gunkote?? Thanks for the imput. I'll keep checking in, I have to get the oven finished it's killing me.